// Monopoly Variation

Rules for the Slaughterhouse variation of Monopoly®

by Theodore Wright.
 

The original Monopoly® was invented 1935 by Parker Brothers. This Slaughterhouse variation of Monopoly® was invented in 1980 with an abridged set of rules yet now has been upgraded for the 21st century. Trust me, playing this version of Monopoly® is a lot of fun! This game is better than other Monopoly variations and other Monopoly games.
 
The running of this variation, versus other variations, is really quite smooth once you become familiar with these game rules. Below are our own Monopoly house rules…

 

Taking turns in purchases

Purchased items such as houses in the game occur only at the beginning of a player’s turn. Although this is merely an invented tradition for the way others may play Monopoly®, this is an important rule for the game balance of Slaughterhouse Monopoly. Be certain to take actions only during your turn or when required by the game.
 

Go!

$200 if you pass in the direction of the arrow.
$400 if you land on the square.
 

 
Free Parking

This square is Free Parking for “The Bank” where you have the option to rob “The Bank” by rolling two-sided dice (2d6) and stealing that number x $100.
 

 
Income Tax

The player pays 10% or $200 if he lands. However, if he currently has a monopoly or has ever robbed “The Bank” he loses ALL his cash to become “Bankrupt”, yet retains his property and cards. The player is not forced to mortgage for payment on this square if being called to bankruptcy.
 

 
Luxury Tax

You do not need to pay $75 on this square.
What you may do for an option is roll a six-sided die (d6) with the following happening…

  1)       Lose a property of your choice to “The Bank”.
  2-3)    Forfeit a property of your choice to the player of your choice.
  4-5)    Take a non-monopolized property from another player.
  6)       Take any property from another player.
 

 
The Chairman of the Board

This title is assigned to the player who rolled highest in toss-up to be assigned to be the first player to roll in the game. He is assigned the “Coin” token representing. Use whatever you find as a unique coin for this.
 

 
Housing Limit

There is no housing limit in Slaughterhouse though there remains the maximum of a hotel on any monopolized colored property. Leaning hotels may be used to represent four houses or other methods may be employed to represent houses or hotels should the game not have sufficient housing tokens.
 

 
Bombs

“Bombs” are represented by red tokens and may be purchased singularly by a player for $200 yet only at the beginning of turns. If a player, subsequently, lands on the property it is then mortgaged and loses any houses or hotel on the property. Houses of other properties will not need to be rearranged to equalized balance. Any fines due for the property will not be required.

“The Cop” token (see later section) does not cause the bomb to detonate, only players landing on them do. The best time to plant bombs is before an opponent builds houses on their new property monopoly.
 

 
Miners

“Miners” are represented by green tokens and may be purchased singularly by a player for $250 yet only at the beginning of turns. If a player, subsequently, lands on the property both the “Miner” and “Bomb” are removed with the property remaining intact. Fines for the property may be due. If the token for “The Cop” lands on a square with a “Miner”, the “Miner” is removed.

If you own a property monopoly and have had a bomb placed on your property, it is expedient to hire a miner for that property. Yet, you will not be able to hire a miner until the beginning of your next turn.
 

 
Pickpocketing

Should a player land and remain on another player on any square where another player resides, the player is granted the option to “pickpocket” the other player for a random amount receivable, should the other player possess the cash. You are NOT allowed nor able to pickpocket “The Cop”! A pickpocket must pay back a thieving player in Jail the full amount of the theft he has done to the player he robbed after first paying a $100 fine to the bank. Unlike bank robbery, this fine is not cumulative for amount of times he may have pickpocketed others. Pickpocketing may be done landing on any square except “Just Visiting” and Jail.

Once the player has landed upon another and has chosen to pickpocket, a six-sided die (d6) is rolled to determine how much is obtained…

  1)       $5
  2)       $10
  3)       $20
  4)       $50
  5)       $100
  6)       $500… This amount pickpocketed will cause “The Cop” to search for this player’s token to land on to arrest and send to Jail.
 

 
The Cop

A blue token is used to represent “The Cop” which starts on the “Go To Jail” square and will remain on this square until someone has robbed “The Bank” or another player pickpocketing for amounts equal or greater than $200 or yet still if a Miner is hired. Should the matter of robbery have been resolved, this blue token returns to the “Go To Jail” square.

This token moves along the same number of squares as each player moves during his turn based solely and only on dice rolls. Exception may be found in cards. “The Cop” moves after each player during their turn. “The Cop” arrests the player on the square later that turn landing on him if he has currently robbed “The Bank”. “The Cop” does NOT Go to Jail on this square.

If a player lands on the cop no action is taken by “The Cop” yet if “The Cop” lands on a player who currently has robbed “The Bank” rules for Jail for Thieves occurs.
 

 
Jail for Thieves

“Jail for Thieves” occurs if a player who has robbed “The Bank” or pickpocketed another player for more than $200 and has been landed on by the blue token for “The Cop” has been sent to Jail by landing on “Go To Jail”, rolled three consecutive doubles during a turn or has received a card directing this action. The payment for the thief is $100 for each time he has been in Jail for theft with additional $100 charged for each additional time in Jail for such offence being paid. The player may use a “Get out of Jail Free” card or roll doubles to escape with the penalty remaining pending any subsequent time in Jail. Escaping Jail does not, of itself, incur additional penalties. Escapees from Jail do not pay the additional fees unless recaptured without escape. Players that are jailed only normally which requires only $50 do not gain the additional $100 charges.
 

 
Journey To Adventure Cards

In addition to the red “Chance” cards and the yellow “Community Chest” cards, there are a blue set of 16 cards called “Journey To Adventure”. These cards are received in place of Chance and Community Chest cards if the squares for these are landed on with a “3”, a “7” or a “9”. Journey To Adventure cards are placed on the board such as Chance and Community Cards are but are placed toward the corner of “Go To Jail” in the middle section of the board. The cards have 16 different actions, namely…

    1)      Enter Free Parking at “The Bank”.  DO NOT PASS GO.

    2)      Retreat back to GO!  DO NOT PASS GO. DO NOT COLLECT.

    3)      Take a Chance card. Observe the card then give it to the player of your choice, not self.

    4)      Get out of Jail NOW! This card MUST be used next time in Jail.

    5)      Build a free bomb available for your use or sell to bank for half value ($100).

    6)      A miner is hired available for use. May be sold to bank for half value ($125).

    7)      Pickpocket the player of your choice. Roll six-sided die.

    8)      Advance to the “Go To Jail” square and remain there.

    9)      Forfeit property of next player’s choice to the Bank.

  10)      Forfeit property of your choice to the Chairman of the Board. If you are the Chairman, take any property.

  11)      Gain one house to place now on your colored monopoly or may be kept OR choose a player to forfeit a house to the Bank.

  12)      Advance cop to nearest token due for arrest.  Send token to Jail. If no token is due for arrest, move cop to “Go To Jail”.

  13)      Go again NOW! After taking action due, including doubles, go to Jail.   (This card is called the “Go INDIRECTLY to Jail” card.)

  14)      Take another turn now, moving backwards. Doubles are included.

  15)      The “Gypsy Pass Key” to avoid the result of a square you land on. Keep this card until used or sold.

  16)      Advance to Income Tax. Have a nice day!
 

 
Comments regarding Journey to Adventure Cards

For card #3, “Take a Chance card. Observe the card then give it to the player of your choice, not self.” this is given to another player and must be done immediately by the other player despite that it is not the other player turn.
 

For card #7, “Pickpocket the player of your choice.” occurs not moving any tokens prior to committing whereas this is an electronic robbery..
 

For cards #9 and #10 for forfeiting properties, the player must lose all houses or hotel on the property with the remainder of the properties of the monopoly retains houses or hotel. However, new housing may only be purchased if the forfeited property is somehow reobtained. The player who has the remaining properties of the monopoly may still collect on the property with houses or hotel, though it has become an incomplete monopoly.
 

For card #11, “Gain one house to place now on your colored monopoly or may be kept OR choose a player to forfeit a house to the Bank” it is that if a player is chosen to forfeit a house, the chosen player to forfeit himself decides which house to return to the Bank. Should the player not desire to place the house on his properties yet, he is allowed to retain it among his properties. If the player decides to sell the house to the Bank, having not placed it on any property, it may be sold to the bank for $25. If the player receives a Chance or Community Chest card charging fines for housing, this would also included houses retained in inventory that are unplanted on properties due to receipt of this Journey To Adventure card.
 

For card #12, “Advance cop to nearest token due for arrest. Send token to Jail. If no token is due for arrest, move cop to ‘Go To Jail’.”, will cause “The Cop” to remain on the square where the arrested player’s token is while the player’s token goes to Jail. If no token is due for arrest, “The Cop” should already be on the “Go To Jail” square, however, this card mentions this as merely a reminder. No harm is done to the game if “The Cop” was still roaming, yet will still need to start again from the “Go To Jail” square.
 

For card #15, the “Gypsy Pass Key” allows a player to avoid the result of a square he lands on, yet only during his turn. This card may be used at the beginning of a turn to do such activities as getting out of Jail free. It may be used at the end of a player’s turn when landing on a square to avoid a payment or other actions of the square. It may even be used after drawing a card to avoid its action in the middle of a turn. However this card may NOT be used for actions such as avoiding getting pickpocketed or being sent to Jail by “The Cop” whereas these do not occur during the player’s turn.
 

For card #16, “Advance to Income Tax.”, the player gains $200 for passing “Go!” yet forfeits that $200 back to “The Bank” due to this square. The player will even lose all his money, including that $200, should he be due for becoming “Bankrupt”.
 

 
Questions about Journey to Adventure Cards

Q: For card #4, “Get out of Jail NOW!”, may the player wait in Jail on a later turn with only rolling to escape to begin with?

A: No. The player must use the “Get out of Jail NOW!” card on his immediate next turn when in Jail. He receives no opportunity to roll doubles to escape. He may, however, pay fines due in Jail. Still, he is obligated to use the card, whether or not he pays, the next time he is in Jail.
 

 
Q: For card #8, “Advance to the “Go To Jail” square and remain there.” does the player subsequently go to Jail later after his turn?

A: Only if “The Cop” lands on the player’s token does it get moved to Jail. The player’s token does not go to Jail when it lands on “The Cop”. The player will resume his normal next turn accordingly.
 

 
Q: I drew the Chance card that says, “You have been elected Chairman of the Board, pay each player $50”. Does that mean that I receive the Coin token from the player who had their turn first in the game? Do I gain the privilege of taking any property if later drawing the Journey to Adventure card #10 which says, “Forfeit property of your choice to the Chairman of the Board. If you are the Chairman, take any property”?

A: YES! That is exactly what this means! Also, when it says to take any property that also includes among the properties that have not yet been purchased.
 

 
Q: For card #14, “Take another turn now, moving backwards.”, do you need to pay the bank back if landing or passing the GO! square backwards?

A: A player will neither collect nor pay back for passing the GO! square backwards, yet would collect $400 for landing.
 

 
Q: What if my token lands on a square with two other player tokens?

A: Each player may individually be robbed by you at your choice.
 

 
Q: I landed on a square with another player’s token then “The Cop” lands on me. Am I able to pickpocket that player since “The Cop” lands on me at the end of my turn?

A: Yes, you may. Yet, if you rob the player for more than $200, you will then immediately go to Jail at the end of your turn.
 

 
Q: My token landed on a square with “The Cop” but “The Cop” is moved off that square at the end of my turn. Yet, “The Cop” was on that square only while I got there. I pickpocketed and/or robbed the bank. Do I still go to Jail?

A: No, you don’t go to Jail because you landed on “The Cop”. “The Cop” did not land on you.
 

 
Q: I pickpocketed and/or robbed the bank then landed on a card drawing square that directs me to move to another location. Then, “The Cop” landed on the square I was on. Am I still required to go to Jail?

A: No, you left the square before “The Cop” arrived at the end of your turn.
 

 
Q: I landed on a card drawing square with another player’s token there. I drew the card that directs me to move to another location. Am I able to pickpocket the other player before I move?

A: If you already drew the card, then NO, you must move and it is too late to pickpocket the other player. If you had pickpocketed the other player first before drawing the card, then you would be able to.
 

 
Q: How many times may I rob the bank on “Free Parking”?

A: As many times as you land there. Still, if you are jailed having to pay back, that may delay you in the game and cause you greater bank robbery fines later. Perhaps, robbing the bank should not be your first choice.
 

 
Q: I have robbed “The Bank” several times then was finally caught and have to pay the bank back. Do I need to pay back several additional amounts of $100 now?

A: No, you only have to pay back one amount of $100 plus what you stole unless you paid back the bank once before then it would be $200. It would be $300 if you paid back twice before.
 

 
Q: I robbed “The Bank” but am doing well as a player now. I want to pay back the bank now before something bad happens to me in the game next where I might lose money on Income Tax or something. May I pay back now?

A: Not until the next time you end up in Jail can you pay back but no other time. You also will gain the offence and have to pay what fine is also due. You may not pay back elsewhere, not even on “The Bank” square. You do not have a bank account there to withdraw from and pay back at will. Don’t do the crime, if you can’t do the time.
 

 
Q: Why is card #15 called the “Gypsy Pass Key”?

A: The title for this card is slang for a tool that is used for picking a lock.
 

 
Trading

“Trading” of properties between players may occur after any player obtains a house-building monopoly or when all the properties have been purchased, whichever happens first. After either of these occurs, that player and other players at beginning of their turns may then initiate trades but not before.
 

Game Play Samples

If a player lands on a property with a bomb, the bomb explodes destroying the houses or hotel and causes the property to become mortgaged. No mortgage payment is due in this example.

If the land owner wants to collect on his monopoly again, he must unmortgage that property but will not be required to build houses to collect on other of the monopoly’s properties. Neither is he required to equalize houses built already. Any new houses he builds he must build on this property first before others in order to equalize subsequently.

After issues for landing on a property, should “The Cop” later that turn or after land on the player’s token, the player that has committed pickpocketing or robbed the bank is then afterwards brought to Jail by the cop.
 

 
If a player’s token lands on a property with a bomb and a miner, both of these are removed with mortgage payment due.

Should “The Cop” subsequently land on the property, the player’s token is then sent to Jail if the player has committed pickpocketing or robbed the bank.

It is necessary to remember that “The Cop” moves at the end of each player’s turn. Any miners landed on by “The Cop” are removed. Any player that has committed an active crime that is landed on by “The Cop” is sent to Jail and must either pay out of Jail, use a card to get out of Jail, or roll doubles within three turn tries to escape Jail else pay the penalty for any crimes.
 

 
If a player’s token lands on a square with another player, that player has the option whether to pickpocket the player then observe the square’s action OR to observe the square’s action then pickpocket the player if his token still remains there to be able to pickpocket. Pickpocketing may not be done in Jail or on “Just Visiting”.

The player, perhaps, may not wish to pickpocket the other player if he knows that “The Cop” will land on his token that turn due to that he would immediately be sent to Jail if he has actively robbed “The Bank” or if he pickpockets more than $500. If the other player has committed crimes, his token, likewise, will be sent to Jail. Pickpocketing is not always the best move to be made.
 

 

Additional Comments

When purchasing Bombs or hiring Miners, only one of each may reside on a property. These may only be planted or hired on properties resided on at the beginning of a turn. It is permissible for a player to hire a Miner for properties which are his or are not his own should he elect to do so. Likewise, a player may purchase Bombs to place on his own properties, though there is no practical gain for such an action.
 

Be aware that “The Cop” does not collect on Go! nor pay mortgages, nor yet receive cards, nor yet pays or receives cash in Slaughterhouse. “The Cop” does NOT get bribed.
 

We standardly played this game not using $1 notes since we rounded to the nearest dollar. While doing this, we made standard rent on Mediterranean Avenue as $3 instead of $2 so this would round up to $5. However, this is not a required rule to run this game variation for Monopoly.
 


Final Comments

If you have played this game, we would like to know. Further, if you have played and have additional questions or comments, please ask or let us know by email at contact@maverickchristians.com. Thank you.
 

NOTE: If new clarification needs to be made to the Slaughterhouse variation of the game of Monopoly®, updates will be made to this page.
 

 

Archives

Ministry Partners

The Shepherding Movement: A Biblical Response
Eshcol Valley Ministries

Topic Menus

ListSelectPages
ExploreMainGifts

Original Homepage

Visit Us On Facebook